In 2007 the Texas legislature passed a law that provides police officers the discretion to cite and issue a summons for certain Class A and B misdemeanors, rather than arresting the person and booking them into the county jail. The new law is found in Article 14.06 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. It applies to the possession of small amounts of marijuana (under 4 oz.) and other offenses such as criminal mischief under $500, graffiti, theft under $500, theft of service under $500, possession of contraband in a correctional facility, and driving while license invalid. Practically speaking, the person appears before a magistrate, just like when booked into jail, but must be released on a personal recognizance (PR) bond.
Importantly, the police are only given discretion to ticket persons who live in the county where the offense allegedly occurred. If you live outside the county the officer is obligated to take you to jail. The bottom line? Whether you receive a "ticket" for possessing marijuana, or are arrested, you still face the same misdemeanor charge . . . a Class A misdemeanor for possessing between 2 and 4 ounces; or a Class B misdemeanor for possessing less than 2 ounces.
If you've been ticketed, or arrested, for possessing marijuana or any drug or controlled substance, you need an experienced Bryan|College Station Drug Charges Lawyer to assist in your defense. Please give us a call.